80 DAYS LEFT - Reisverslag uit Butler, Verenigde Staten van Nienke - WaarBenJij.nu 80 DAYS LEFT - Reisverslag uit Butler, Verenigde Staten van Nienke - WaarBenJij.nu

80 DAYS LEFT

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Nienke

12 April 2015 | Verenigde Staten, Butler

Hi everybody,

It's been a little while that I wrote my last story on my blog.
In the time between the last one and this story I did a lot.
Everything goes still really good with me and I still enjoy my stay here in America.
I realize that this year goes really to fast it flies away!

It was really cold the winter here in Butler. It was the coldest winter in more than 20 years it was a record so that says that it was really cold. My host father he said one time in a morning to me that it was -38 in celsius, that is really cold. We had a lot of snow days that are days that you get off from school and you have to make up the days at the end of the school year. We only had the good Friday off from our easter vacation. My graduation was at June 5th and because it was so cold weather and a lot of snow (bad roads) it moved to June 11. I didn't really like the cold weather but I enjoyed the snow for a little bit because I went for the first time with my host brother (Trevor) in our yard sled riding and build a snowman with the american flag and flag from the Netherlands. I went also for the first time tubing for my friends birthday and I went to her camp that weekend with a couple other friends and it was really fun!

I went with my friends to Hershey that's a place in Pennsylvania. It's like 4 hours from Butler with the car. The most people know Hershey from the chocolate bar. I went to Hershey for Basketball states High school. If we made the Play-offs then we did play there So it was fun to see the team that we played in our competition. We saw the girls teams and boys teams. I stayed with my friends a full weekend in Hershey and we watched every day 4 games. It is always really nice to see how big sports here are in America and I really enjoyed it.

Easter in America was nice. It is a little bit different how they do it in my host family than in the Netherlands but I don't know how whole America it celebrates but in the Netherlands is it most of the times a Easter lunch and what I did with my host family was around 3/4 o'clock have a dinner: mash potatoes, ham, vegetables and dessert brownies or cake. It was very good I liked it. The most people do it here the same as my host family. I really liked it with the family.
In the Netherlands you have also second easter we don't have that here in America.
I also painted eggs with a friend (Ploy) and her host family, she is an exchange student from Thailand.

I went to International days at the highland school. International days is for exchange students, you have for three days a another host family in the area where the school is, you let them see how it is to have an exchange student. You also go to a another school and help more people to host exchange students and let the students know that it is possible for them also to go to a another country and be an exchange student. It was really fun but a lot of talking in lessons about me and the Netherlands and answer the questions from the students. It was nice to see the exchange students again and it was nice to tell something about my country and meet new people. I did go to a another International day before but this one I like the most because it was more about talking about your country. I still like Butler the most, I guess Butler feels like my home:).

Thank you for reading my story this time!
I hope you liked it.
(I can't add more pictures, there is a limit so I will show them all when I'm home).

love,

Nienke



  • 12 April 2015 - 05:11

    Cherell:

    Hi Nienke,
    Oh dan ben jij nu wel wat gewend, volgend jaar in de winter loop jij hier met een zomerjas met -6 graden hahah

  • 12 April 2015 - 05:13

    Cherell:

    Nou.. ik heb al 2x een lang verhaal getypt op dit verslag.. of de site stopt of hij plaatst maar 1 zin zoals net :( niet leuk. Naja dan hoor je mn verhaal nog wel op de app!!

  • 12 April 2015 - 06:06

    Marga:

    Hoi Nienke, vreselijk die kou. Ik vind het zo leuk om te zien hoe erg jij het naar je zin hebt. Fijn om steeds iets van je te zien, Facebook en te lezen op je blog. Weet schrijf je goed in het Engels. Super knap.
    Heel veel plezier voor de rest van de tijd.
    Veel liefs.

  • 14 April 2015 - 11:37

    Chloé:

    Nice story! What is the chocolate bar?

  • 17 April 2015 - 14:56

    Esther:

    Lieve Nienke,

    Van harte gefeliciteerd met je verjaardag. !8 jaar. Je bent nu volwassen, met veeeeel meer privileges, stemmen enzo. Ik denk aan je en weet dat je allemaal lieve mensen om je heen hebt. Nog een fijne tijd daar, en goed om je weer te zien 30 juni.
    Dikke knuffel!
    Tante Esther

  • 20 April 2015 - 22:15

    Cilia En Leo:

    Ha Nienke,
    Wat een verhalen en wat fijn om te lezen dat je nog steeds zo geniet. A.s. zaterdag komen je ouders bij ons eten. Dan zullen we vast nog wel meer verhalen horen. Geniet van de laatste etappe!

    Hartelijke groeten,

    Cilia en Leo

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Verenigde Staten, Butler

Nienke

Actief sinds 13 Aug. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 262
Totaal aantal bezoekers 3916

Voorgaande reizen:

08 September 2014 - 30 Juni 2014

Mijn eerste reis alleen

Landen bezocht: